Skip to main navigation.
To Text Your Outage, Text "UNITED" to 85700

Text your outage 24/7. Text "OUT" to 85700.

Board of Directors


Patsy Dumas – President

District 2 – Burleson Area

Patsy Dumas began serving as a director in 1990. Mrs. Dumas has been in the banking industry since 1965 and is currently a senior vice president and loan officer at First National Bank in Burleson. She has also worked for the Farmers and Merchants State Bank and the Cow Pasture Bank in Burleson. Mrs. Dumas was named Burleson Citizen of the Year in 1990 and was the first in her area to win the Athena Award – a national award for women. She has served on the Huguley Advisory Council since 1992 and spent several terms on the board of the Burleson Area Chamber of Commerce. Mrs. Dumas is a past-president of her local American Cancer Society Unit, the Burleson Rotary Club and a Business and Professional Women group. She is also on the Character First Steering Committee of Burleson and on the Burleson Beautification Council.


Larry Bays – Vice President

District 7 – Northwestern Erath County (Lingleville)

Larry Bays began serving as a director in 1983. He holds the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association’s Certified Credentialed Director certificate and Board Leadership certificate. A graduate of Lingleville High School, he currently resides in Dublin, Texas. A diversified farmer, Mr. Bays raises cattle, hay, silage, and nursery shade trees in Erath County. Since 2005, he has represented United on the Brazos Electric Cooperative board (a generation and transmission cooperative supplying wholesale electric power to UCS and 16 other cooperatives) where he is a member of the executive committee and serves as chair of the Power Supply Committee. He served on an elected county committee for the Agriculture Stabilization and Conservation Service (now called the Farm Service Agency) for nine years, serving as chairman for eight of those years. Mr. Bays also served as Lingleville ISD’s school board president for 13 years, retiring in May, 2003.


Tommy Cantrell – Secretary/Treasurer

District 3 – Bluff Dale/Tolar and Southwestern Hood

Tommy Cantrell was named to the United Board of Directors in October 2005. He is a resident of the Morgan Mill–Bluff Dale area. He graduated from Stephenville High School in 1967 and earned a bachelor’s degree in agriculture from Tarleton State University in 1972. Following college, he was employed with the Texas Department of Agriculture where he served as a general inspector, pesticide specialist, grain warehouse specialist, assistant supervisor, a training specialist and office manager before he retired in 2003. He served on the Morgan Mill School Board from 1990 -1995. He has been a member of the Morgan Mill Volunteer Fire Department since 1989, a member of the Erath County Fire Fighters Association since 1990, and he also organized the Morgan Mill First Responders in 1995.


Harry Thompson

District 1 – Possum Kingdom and Palo Pinto County Area

Harry Thompson was elected to the board in October 2011. He received an honorable discharge from the U.S. Army Reserves in 1972 after serving his country for nearly eight years. A graduate of Smyer High School, he attended South Plains College and Texas Tech University. He is retired from the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service as an Environmental Health & Safety Specialist after 34 years of service. He was responsible for six states, conducting year-round safety and occupational health training classes/workshops, inspections, and/or investigations inside federal food handling establishments and FSIS facilities. Since his retirement, he has worked as a seasonal employee for the Texas Parks & Wildlife (Inland Fisheries Div) as a Fish & Wildlife Tech (2006-current). He is a member of the Community Church of PK Lake, where he served on the church council for three years (two years as Moderator of the Council). He is a member of the PK Lions Club and has been the club secretary for six years.

Clifford Deal

District 4 – Eastern Johnson County (Alvarado and Grandview)

Clifford Deal has served as director since 1981. He has lived in the Happy Hill community near Alvarado since early childhood. Mr. Deal was employed by Western Electric Company for 30 years, with two years spent in the U.S. Army. During this time, he also operated dairy farms in Johnson and Bosque Counties. In 1998, he sold the dairy cows and developed Cliffwood Estates on a portion of his farm in Johnson County. He formerly owned and operated Union Hill Sand and Gravel in Bosque County. Mr. Deal has previously served on the boards of Brazos Electric Cooperative, Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council, ACRE/Rural Friends, Associated Milk Producers, Inc., and Johnson County Farm Bureau. He has also served on the Bosque River Advisory Committee and the District 58 Agricultural Advisory Committee.

John Jones

District 5 – Johnson County Area (Keene, Joshua, Godley)


John Jones began serving as a director in July 2011. He has an extensive background in electric generation construction, including hydroelectric, nuclear and fossil fuel-fired generating facilities. With degrees in civil engineering and economics earned from Trinity College in Ireland, Jones has used his expertise throughout the world for corporations including Bechtel Power, British Petroleum and Exxon-Mobil, among others.


Edward Cardin

District 6 – Granbury and Northeast Hood County

Ed Cardin


Edward Cardin began serving as a director in February 2014. Originally from Memphis, Tenn., he attended Northwest Mississippi Junior College, Tarrant County Junior College and the University of Texas at Arlington. A resident of Lake Granbury since 1972, Mr. Cardin is a longtime business owner with an extensive background in the propane industry. Working in such a field, Mr. Cardin is a vocal proponent of work safety, which is United’s number one priority. He has served as an elder with Brazos Covenant Ministries and as director on the board of Brazos Pregnancy Center. In addition to his business initiatives, Mr. Cardin is very focused on the well-being of the community and is an involved advocate for the residents in Hood County.






Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Show It and Save with the Co-op Connections Card Learn, Play and Saved in the Kids Energy Zone Co-ops Vote